Sam Houston State’s Cameron Delaney Wins Men’s Basketball Player of the Year - Southland Conference Skip To Main Content
Sam Houston State’s Cameron Delaney Wins Men’s Basketball Player of the Year
Sam Houston State Athletics

Sam Houston State’s Cameron Delaney Wins Men’s Basketball Player of the Year

FRISCO, Texas – Sam Houston State redshirt senior guard Cameron Delaney is the 2019 Southland Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Year, the league announced Monday along with its all-conference teams. Southland yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition.
Delaney, a Harker Heights, Texas, native, led the conference in three-point field-goal percentage (.491) in league play, draining 52 of his 106 attempts from beyond the arc and averaging the second-most treys per game (2.9). In Southland contests, he finished among the top-10 in points (15.6) and rebounds (6.3) per game and free-throw percentage (.852), helping the Bearkats claim their fourth Southland Conference regular-season title.
Sam Houston State also accounted for the league's Newcomer of the Year in junior forward/center Kai Mitchell. Northwestern State's Ishmael Lane is the Defensive Player of the Year, and New Orleans' Gerrale Gates is the Freshman of the Year. Abilene Christian's head man Joe Golding garnered Coach of the Year honors.
A Hutchinson Community College transfer, Mitchell posted the fourth-best field-goal percentage in conference play (.566) and snagged 7.1 rebounds per game, good for seventh in the league. The junior from Haverstraw, N.Y. scored a season-high 21 points and shot 10-of-15 from the field in a win over Abilene Christian on Feb. 9.
Lane, a senior from Port Allen, La., averaged a double-double in Southland contests, pouring in 15 points per game and a conference-leading 11.3 rebounds per game. He finished tied atop the league in blocked shots (69), including a conference-best eight stops against New Orleans on Feb. 6. On two occasions, Lane grabbed 19 boards, the most by a Southland player this season. Of his 12 double-doubles, nine came in league games.
A Charlotte, N.C. native, Gates started 28 of the Privateers' 29 games and averaged 8.9 points, 5.2 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game. With leading scorer Ezekiel Charles out for the final seven games of the season, those numbers jumped to 9.7 points, 5.9 rebounds and 1.4 assists per game.
In his eighth year at the helm of the Wildcats, Golding led Abilene Christian (25-6, 14-4 SLC) to program records in wins (25) and conference wins (14) and the first 20-win season at the Division I level. After going 8-10 in league play in 2017-18, the Wildcats' first year of postseason eligibility, he helped ACU to a six-game turnaround in league play and the program's first Southland Conference Basketball tournament berth.
Delaney leads the all-conference first team, joined by Lane, Lamar's Nick Garth and Southeastern Louisiana's Moses Greenwood and Marlain Veal, his third all-conference selection.
Sam Houston State earned a trio of selections to lead the league while Southeastern Louisiana, Lamar, Stephen F. Austin and Abilene Christian each secured two picks on the teams. Northwestern State, Houston Baptist, New Orleans and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi each garnered one spot.
All-conference teams and individual awards are nominated and voted upon by the conference's head coaches and sports information directors. Voting for oneself or one's own players/coaches is not permitted. To receive honorable mention, a player must appear on at least 25 percent of ballots.
Player of the Year: Cameron Delaney, Sam Houston State
Defensive Player of the Year: Ishmael Lane, Northwestern State
Freshman of the Year: Gerrale Gates, New Orleans
Newcomer of the Year: Kai Mitchell, Sam Houston State
Coach of the Year: Joe Golding, Abilene Christian
2018-19 All-Southland Conference Men's Basketball Teams

First Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Cameron Delaney Sam Houston State G R-Sr. Harker Heights, Texas
Marlain Veal3 Southeastern Louisiana G Sr. New Orleans, La.
Ishmael Lane2 Northwestern State F/C Sr. Port Allen, La.
Moses Greenwood Southeastern Louisiana F Sr. Sharon, Miss.
Nick Garth Lamar G Sr. Houston, Texas

Second Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Kevon Harris2 Stephen F. Austin G/F Jr. Ellenwood, Ga.
Josh Nzeakor Lamar F Sr. Mesquite, Texas
Jaren Lewis Abilene Christian F Sr. Orlando, Fla.
Shannon Bogues2 Stephen F. Austin G Sr. Killeen, Texas
Ian DuBose Houston Baptist G So. Durham, N.C.

Third Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Jaylen Franklin2 Abilene Christian G Sr. Little Rock, Ark.
Josh Delaney Sam Houston State G Sr. Harker Heights, Texas
Kai Mitchell Sam Houston State F/C Jr. Haverstraw, N.Y.
Ezekiel Charles New Orleans G Sr. Brooklyn, N.Y.
Kareem South Texas A&M-Corpus Christi G Jr. Toronto, Ontario

2 indicates two-time all-conference selection
3 indicates three-time all-conference selection
Honorable Mention: Roydell Brown, McNeese; Jeremiah Jefferson, Nicholls; Payten Ricks, Abilene Christian; Thatch Unruh, Central Arkansas.

All-Defensive Team
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Ishmael Lane Northwestern State F/C Sr. Port Allen, La.
Jaylen Franklin Abilene Christian G Sr. Little Rock, Ark.
Braxton Bonds Houston Baptist G R-Sr. Nashville, Tenn.
Marlain Veal Southeastern Louisiana G Sr. New Orleans, La.
Hayden Koval Central Arkansas C So. Prosper, Texas